哈欽森 - 吉爾福德早衰綜合徵: 小兒罕見衰老症



在第一個研究 1886 喬納森·哈欽森和後面介紹 1897 由黑斯廷斯吉爾福特, 哈欽森 - 吉爾福德早衰綜合徵是一種罕見的遺傳條件下,影響估計 1 在 8 萬兒童. 它的特徵是過量的過早老化, 它使一個年輕的孩子看起來像一個老男人還是女人. 單詞“早衰症”是一個希臘詞“親” (之前, 或早產) 和“赫拉斯” (老年).

哈欽森 - 吉爾福德早衰綜合症 (HGPS) 一般發生作為基因突變的結果, 並且不能被繼承,因為病人通常不活過去十幾歲.




衰老疾病projeria綜合徵

早衰症的特點

早衰綜合症的主要特點是一個年輕的嬰兒或兒童有一個很老的男人或女人的所有功能和證據 - 這些可以細分為以下:

  • 有限公司和非常發育不良身體發育
  • 很皺的皮膚或硬皮病 - 皮膚遍布全身硬化和緊縮
  • 小而脆弱的骨骼
  • 非常大的頭部和頭皮可見靜脈
  • 窄臉和嘴鼻
  • 突出和眼脹
  • 脫髮或全脫髮
  • 體內脂肪和肌肉損失
  • 關節僵硬, 腎功能衰竭, 失明, 髖關節脫位, 和心血管疾病

早衰症的遺傳原因

有一種被稱為核纖層蛋白A中是由LMNA基因產生的蛋白質. 核纖層蛋白的蛋白質,影響機體的細胞形狀細胞核. 當基因突變導致生產不正常的核纖層蛋白的蛋白質, 它會導致膜包繞細胞核變得不穩定,這種發展破壞細胞核,並殺死其關閉速度比正常. 這最終導致胚胎在子宮內,開發早衰基因和細胞, 而在當下條件組的孩子出生, 直到他/她在十幾歲去世.

早衰最快速過早的老化 - 在兒童早衰症診斷

診斷早老症是沒有問題的,因為在所有的所有搬弄是非的症狀,證據是大家都可以看到. 然而, 一個LMNA基因突變檢測也可以做確認退行性衰老疾病.

類似衰老性疾病

也有一些其它的加速老化疾病非常相似早衰綜合症, 而這些主要是由DNA缺陷引起的維修. 他們也被稱為被一些醫學專家段progerias因為不像早衰綜合症, 它們誘導加速老化的某些方面老化. 一些退行性衰老性疾病的:

  • 沃納綜合徵
  • 科凱恩綜合徵
  • 著色性幹皮

早衰症治療

沒有為早衰沒有已知的治療, 但也有旨在從狀態引起的並發症治療. 例如, 根據個別情況, 患者可使用冠狀動脈搭橋手術心血管疾病進行治療, 而且它們也可被給予生長激素治療與被推薦的高能量的飲食.


從這篇文章中受益? 請使用上面的共享按鈕分享您最喜愛的社交網絡帖子. 為確保您保持最新與我們的文章, 輸入您的電子郵件訂閱.

獲得免費更新
輸入您的電子郵件以獲得新的職位警報


發表評論

Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria Syndrome: A Rare Aging Disorder in Children


    

First researched in 1886 by Jonathan Hutchinson and later described in 1897 by Hastings Gilford, the Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome is a rare genetic condition that affects an estimated 1 in 8 million children. It is characterized by excessive premature aging, and it makes a young child look like an old man or woman. The word “progeria” is a Greek word for “pro” (before, or premature) and “geras” (old age).

Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome (HGPS) generally occurs as a result of gene mutations, and cannot be inherited because patients do not usually live past their teens.




aging disease projeria syndrome

Characteristics of Progeria Syndrome

The major characteristic of progeria syndrome is that a young infant or child has all the features and evidences of a very old man or woman – and these can be broken down to the following:

  • Limited and very stunted body growth
  • Very wrinkled skin or scleroderma – a hardening and tightening of the skin all over the body
  • Small and fragile bones
  • Very big heads and visible scalp veins
  • A narrow face and beak nose
  • Prominent and bulging eyes
  • Alopecia or full hair loss
  • Loss of body fat and muscles
  • Stiff joints, kidney failure, loss of eyesight, hip dislocation, and cardiovascular diseases

Genetic Causes of Progeria Syndrome

There is a protein called the Lamin A which is produced by the LMNA gene. The Lamin A protein influences the shapes nucleus in body cells. When genetic mutations cause abnormal production of the Lamin A protein, it causes the membrane enveloping the cell nucleus to become unstable and this development damages cell nucleus and kills them off faster than is normal. This ultimately leads to an embryo within the womb to develop progeria genes and cells, and the condition sets in the moment the child is born, until he/she passes away during the teenage years.

progeria-the-rapid-premature-aging-in-childrenDiagnosis of Progeria Syndrome

Diagnosing progeria poses no problems at all because all the tell-tale symptoms and evidences are there for all to see. However, a LMNA mutations test can also be done to confirm the degenerative aging disease.

Similar Aging Diseases

There are a few other accelerated aging diseases that are very similar to progeria syndrome, and these are largely caused by defective DNA repairs. They have also been called segmental progerias by some medical professionals because unlike progeria syndrome, they induce accelerated aging in certain aspects of aging. Some of these degenerative aging diseases are:

  • Werner syndrome
  • Cockayne syndrome
  • Xeroderma pigmentosum

Treatment of Progeria Syndrome

There is no known treatment for progeria, but there are treatments aimed at complications arising from the condition. For instance, depending on individual cases, patients may be treated for cardiovascular diseases using coronary artery bypass surgery, and they may also be given growth hormone treatments with high-energy diets being recommended.


Benefited from this post? Kindly use the sharing buttons above to share the post on your favourite social networks. To make sure you stay up to date with our articles, enter your email to subscribe.

Get Free Updates
Input your email to get new post alert


Leave a Reply