暂时瘫痪和肠道疾病预防控制中心之间的连接调查 68



继肠病毒爆发 68 与儿童和青少年在整个分数的住院 45 在美国各州, 中心疾病控制和预防 (CDC) 表示,将调查 病毒和暂时性瘫痪关系 其是变疾病的一个共同的特征在住院儿童.

肠道病毒的最常见的症状 68 病毒是症状是普通感冒的特性, 如喘息, 冷, 和严重的呼吸道感染. 但远不止这些, 从而有针对性年幼的孩子和青少年罕见的呼吸系统疾病本身呈现为一种疾病​​,也可引起暂时性麻痹为在科罗拉多州9住院的孩子看到.




力图更好地调查肠道病毒之间的联系 68 在受影响的儿童使用四肢暂时丧失, 疾病预防控制中心已经拿出了一些事实,必须对这种罕见疾病的儿童被称为; 并且为此, 下面的事实似乎建立关于肠 68 孩子的病.

  • 它会导致严重的呼吸道感染像其他普通感冒的症状之一喘息. 而据医生. 理查德·贝瑟, 首席健康和医学编辑为美国广播公司新闻, “这是你必须沃彻出来的喘息。”
  • 一些受影响的孩子往往会遭受暂时瘫痪的肠道病毒感染时, 68. 为公共卫生和环境的科罗拉多州部首席医疗官, 博士. 拉里·沃尔克, “这是手臂或腿部无力的频谱,可以为轻度或瘫痪那么严重. 什么他们都联系在一起,虽然是在MRI扫描脊髓灰质的斑点或病变的发现。“
  • 它仍然是比较陌生的是什么原因导致肠道病毒 68, 但是,已知通过与粪便接触传播, 唾液, 感染者和粘膜分泌物. 因此,美国的医疗服务建议用消毒液手经常清洗消毒和.
  • 没有为肠病毒没有已知的或特定的治疗 68 然而, 并没有明确的抗病毒药物或疫苗,以防止感染; 但医疗当局,而一直负责治疗肠道病毒的症状 68 感染. 博士. 贝瑟认为,“最重要的是认识到呼吸窘迫的迹象。”
  • 哮喘人与年幼的孩子更容易得到感染肠道病毒 68 感染, 这表示,不是所有的人可以下来与呼吸系统疾病. 有些人比其他人更容易, 而其中主要是儿童和哮喘患者.

虽然这不是第一次肠 68 正在美国境内的报道 (它一直在报道,佐治亚州和宾夕法尼亚州的 2009, 和亚利桑那州的 2010), 这是第一次被跨越引起广泛恐慌 45 美国国家内部; 医疗部门也正在调查为何卷土重来. 据医生. 更好, “这是一个非常普遍的时间 (夏季) 病毒爆发. 孩子们回到学校,, 他们喜欢分享的东西, 他们带回家给他们的小兄弟姐妹. 但这样一, 这个特殊的肠道病毒是非常罕见的, 他们不知道为什么,今年出现了。“


从这篇文章中受益? 请使用上面的共享按钮分享您最喜爱的社交网络帖子. 为确保您保持最新与我们的文章, 输入您的电子邮件订阅.

获得免费更新
输入您的电子邮件以获得新的职位警报


发表评论

CDC Investigates Link between Temporary Paralysis and Enterovirus 68


    

Following the outbreak of the Enterovirus 68 and the hospitalization of scores of kids and teens across 45 states in the US, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) says it will be investigating the relationship between the virus and temporary paralysis which is becoming a common feature of the disease in hospitalized children.

The most common symptoms of the enterovirus 68 virus are symptoms that are characteristic of the common cold, such as wheezing, cold, and severe respiratory infections. But much more than these, the rare respiratory disease which has targeted young kids and teens is showing itself as a disease that can also cause temporary paralysis as seen in nine hospitalized kids in Colorado.




In a bid to better investigate the link between the enterovirus 68 and temporary loss of the use of limbs in affected children, the CDC has come up with some facts that must be known about this rare children disease; and to this end, the following facts seem established about the enterovirus 68 children’s disease.

  • It causes severe respiratory infections like wheezing among other common cold symptoms. And according to Dr. Richard Besser, the chief health and medical editor for ABC News, “it’s the wheezing you have to watcha out for.”
  • Several affected kids tend to suffer temporary paralysis when infected with the enterovirus 68. The chief medical officer for the Department of Public Health and Environment in Colorado, Dr. Larry Wolk, “it is a spectrum of arm or leg weakness that can be as mild or as severe as paralysis. What ties them all together though are findings of spots or lesions in the grey matter of the spinal cord on MRI scans.”
  • It is still relatively unknown what causes the enterovirus 68, but it is known to spread through contact with the feces, saliva, and mucous secretions of infected persons. The US health services therefore recommends frequent washing of the hands and disinfections with antiseptic liquids.
  • There is no known or specific treatments for the enterovirus 68 yet, and no definite anti-viral medications or vaccines to prevent the infection; but medical authorities have rather been tasked with treating the symptoms of the enterovirus 68 infection. Dr. Besser believes that “the important thing is to recognize the signs of respiratory distress.”
  • Asthmatic people and young kids are more prone to getting infected with the enterovirus 68 infection, and this indicates that not all persons can come down with the respiratory disease. Some people are more vulnerable than others, and chief among these are young children and asthmatic patients.

Although this isn’t the first time the enterovirus 68 is being reported within the US (it’d been reported in Georgia and Pennsylvania in 2009, and Arizona in 2010), this is the first time it is causing wide panic across 45 states within the US; and medical authorities are also investigating why it made a comeback. According to Dr. Besser, “this is a very common time (summer) for outbreaks. Kids come back to school, they like to share things, they bring them home to their little brothers and sisters. But this one, this particular enterovirus is very rare, and they have no idea why it showed up this year.”


Benefited from this post? Kindly use the sharing buttons above to share the post on your favourite social networks. To make sure you stay up to date with our articles, enter your email to subscribe.

Get Free Updates
Input your email to get new post alert


Leave a Reply