امرأة تأخذ الحياة الخاصة كما وعدت في وقت سابق للجمهور



بريتاني ماينارد, 29, وعدت في وقت سابق من العالم كله أنها سوف تأخذ حياتها وسط العائلة والأصدقاء يوم السبت, تشرين الثاني 1, 2014 بعد عجز الأطباء لإيجاد علاج لها ورم سرطاني في المخ. وفقا للجدول الزمني المحدد لها وكذلك المخطط لها من خيار, أخذت حياتها تماما كما أرادت.

أرادت أن تمر بها في سريرها الزوجية مع الموسيقى الناعمة يلعب في الخلفية, وأفراد الأسرة المحيطة لها - وهذا هو ما حدث.

لورم في المخ القاتلة التي يعاني بريتاني ماينارد من تسبب لها الشديدة الرقبة والرأس وآلام, وأيضا الناجم عن النوبات رهيبة ولفترات طويلة أعراض السكتة الدماغية مثل التي جعلتها تفقد مؤقتا وظائف الجسم والقدرة. وقال الأطباء أيضا لها أنها على وشك أن يموت في غضون ستة أشهر. وكان هذا عندما قررت بريتاني أنها لن تسمح لها ورم في المخ السرطانية لتحديد كيف عاشت وعندما توفيت - وقالت انها تريد أن تفعل ذلك بنفسها. وفعلت. بفرح. حتى حملة للآخرين لاختيار طريقة للموت في مواجهة الأمراض المزمنة مزمنة.

انتقل بريتاني من ولاية كاليفورنيا إلى ولاية أوريغون مع عدد قليل من أفراد الأسرة عندما علمت أن قوانين ولاية كاليفورنيا لا تسمح الموت بكرامة. ولاية أوريغون, واشنطن, فيرمونت, مونتانا, ونيو مكسيكو هي خمس ولايات الولايات المتحدة الوحيدة التي تسمح للموت مع قوانين الكرامة, واختارت ولاية أوريغون. كما أنها أصبحت ناشطة متعطشا التراحم والاختيار, المنظمة الوطنية غير الهادفة للربح التي دعت إلى الموت بكرامة في ولاية أوريغون. الرحمة وخيارات رتبت كيف أنها كانت للذهاب في شروطها الخاصة, وقدمت الدعم اللازم انها في حاجة لتمرير من خلال محنتها.

بريتاني ماينارد

وفقا لبريتاني, "أنا لم يطلق هذه الحملة لأنني أردت الاهتمام; حقيقة, انه من الصعب بالنسبة لي لمعالجة كل شيء. فعلت ذلك لأنني أريد أن أرى العالم حيث كل شخص لديه حق الوصول إلى الموت بكرامة, كما كان لي. رحلتي أسهل بسبب هذا الاختيار. انه مجنون لي أن مرضى آخرين يعانون من مرض عضال لا تملك الخيار نفسه وقد لا تتمتع بالمرونة لالتقاط والتحرك مع عائلاتهم ".

بريتاني ماينارد يذهب إلى أبعد من الدفاع عن خيارها حتى الموت بكرامة. "أنا لا أقتل نفسي. السرطان هو قتل لي. أنا اختيار الذهاب في طريق أن يكون أقل معاناة وألم أقل. ليس الجميع أن نتفق على أنه هو الشيء الصحيح, لأنهم لم يكن لديك للقيام بذلك. وخيار التي وفرت لي الكثير من الإغاثة, لأن الطريقة التي بلدي سرطان الدماغ أن يأخذني عضويا بشكل فظيع جدا. انها طريقة رهيبة للموت. واعتقدت أنني يمكن تجنيب نفسي والألم الجسدي والعاطفي طويلة من أن, وكذلك عائلتي, يبعث على الارتياح ".

تولى بريتاني جرعة قاتلة من الماء, المهدئات, والجهاز التنفسي نظام اكتئاب أنها تلقت من الأطباء قبل أشهر. شون كراولي, وقال متحدث باسم التراحم واختيارات أن "مع تزايد الأعراض أكثر شدة, اختارت لاختصار عملية الموت عن طريق أخذ الدواء المساعدات في ويموتون أنها تلقت منذ أشهر. هذا إذن هو اختيار الموت تحت ولاية أوريغون مع قانون الكرامة. توفيت لأنها تهدف - بشكل سلمي في غرفة نومها, في أحضان أحبائها ".

"وداعا لجميع أصدقائي الأعزاء والأسرة التي أحبها,"شارك اللاعب البالغ من العمر 29 عاما في الفيسبوك. "اليوم هو اليوم لقد اخترت أن تزول مع الكرامة في وجه من بلدي مرض عضال. بلدي ورم أرومي سوف تقتلني, وهذا خارج عن إرادتي. لقد ناقشت مع العديد من الخبراء كيف سيموت منه, وانها رهيبة, طريقة رهيبة للموت. حتى تكون قادرة على اختيار الذهاب مع الكرامة هي أقل مرعبة. على الناس أن يجادل ضد هذا الخيار للمرضى حقا يبدو الشر لي,"وأضافت في المقابلة. واضاف "انهم محاولة مزجها مع انتحار وهذا غير عادل حقا, لأنه ليس هناك جزء واحد من لي أنه يريد أن يموت. ولكن أنا أموت ".

بعد أن المتوقعة شرب حتى الثمالة وسائل الاعلام والمناقشات التشريعية التي فاتها أن تنتج, بريتاني شكر الجميع على دعم لها. "أريد أن أشكر لكم جميعا, ليتردد بقوة مع قصتي. بسبب رد الفعل لا يصدق, بدأت شيئا ضخما يحدث. الأسبوع الماضي وحده, وجاء المشرعين في ولاية كونيتيكت ونيوجيرسي قدما في دعم فواتير هيئة الارصاد, ووعد وضعها من جديد في دائرة الضوء,"قالت أكتوبر 22. "أنا لن نعيش لنرى حركة هيئة الارصاد تصل إلى كتلة حرجة, ولكن أدعو لك لأنها تحمل إلى الأمام. ... لدي للاعتقاد بأن الألم صمدنا له هدف أكبر في التغيير الذي يمكن أن تخلق كأمة. وأترك ​​بين يديك.


استفاد من هذا المنصب? يرجى استخدام أزرار تقاسم أعلاه لمشاركة آخر على الشبكات الاجتماعية المفضلة لديك. للتأكد من البقاء حتى موعد مع مقالاتنا, ادخل بريدك الالكتروني للاشتراك.

الحصول على تحديثات مجانية
إدخال عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني للحصول على آخر تنبيه جديد


اترك رد

Woman Takes Own Life As Earlier Promised To the Public


    

Brittany Maynard, 29, had earlier promised the whole world that she would take her own life amidst family and friends on Saturday, November 1, 2014 following the inability of medical doctors to find cure for her cancerous brain tumor. And according to her schedule and well-planned out choice, she took her own life just as she wanted.

She wanted to pass out in her matrimonial bed with soft music playing in background, and family members surrounding her – and that is what happened.

The fatal brain tumor that Brittany Maynard suffered from caused her severe neck and head pains, and also induced terrible seizures and prolonged stroke-like symptoms that made her to temporarily lose bodily functions and ability. Doctors had also told her she was going to die within six months. And this was when Brittany decided that she would not allow her cancerous brain tumor to determine how she lived and when she died – she’d do it herself. And she did. Joyfully. Even campaigning for others to choose a way to die in the face of chronically terminal diseases.

Brittany moved from California to Oregon with a few family members when she learnt that California’s laws do not allow for death with dignity. Oregon, Washington, Vermont, Montana, and New Mexico are the only five US states that allow for Death With Dignity laws, and she chose Oregon. She also became an avid campaigner for Compassion & Choice, the national non-profit organization that advocated for dying with dignity in Oregon. Compassion & Choices arranged for how she was to go on her own terms, and provided the needed support she needed to pass through her ordeal.

Brittany Maynard

According to Brittany, “I didn’t launch this campaign because I wanted attention; in fact, it’s hard for me to process it all. I did this because I want to see a world where everyone has access to death with dignity, as I have had. My journey is easier because of this choice. It’s crazy to me that other patients suffering with terminal illness don’t have the same choice and may not have the same flexibility to pick up and move with their family.”

Brittany Maynard goes further to defend her choice to death with dignity. “I’m not killing myself. Cancer is killing me. I am choosing to go in a way that is less suffering and less pain. Not everybody has to agree that it’s the right thing, because they don’t have to do it. And it’s an option that for me has provided a lot of relief, because the way that my brain cancer would take me organically is very terrible. It’s a horrible way to die. The thought that I can spare myself the physical and emotional lengthy pain of that, as well as my family, is a huge relief.”

Brittany took a fatal dose of water, sedatives, and respiratory-system depressants that she had received from doctors months before. Sean Crowley, a spokesman for Compassion & Choices stated that “as symptoms grew more severe, she chose to abbreviate the dying process by taking the aid-in-dying medication she had received months ago. This choice is authorized under the Oregon Death With Dignity Act. She died as she intended — peacefully in her bedroom, in the arms of her loved ones.”

“Goodbye to all my dear friends and family that I love,” the 29-year-old posted on Facebook. “Today is the day I have chosen to pass away with dignity in the face of my terminal illness. My glioblastoma is going to kill me, and that’s out of my control. I’ve discussed with many experts how I would die from it, and it’s a terrible, terrible way to die. So being able to choose to go with dignity is less terrifying. For people to argue against this choice for sick people really seems evil to me,” she added in the interview. “They try to mix it up with suicide and that’s really unfair, because there’s not a single part of me that wants to die. But I am dying.”

Having foreseen the media buzz and legislative debates that her death would produce, Brittany thanked everyone for supporting her. “I want to thank you all, for resonating powerfully with my story. Because of the incredible reaction, something monumental has started to happen. Last week alone, lawmakers in Connecticut and New Jersey came forward in support of DwD bills, and promised to put them back in the spotlight,” she said October 22. “I won’t live to see the DwD movement reach critical mass, but I call on you to carry it forward. … I have to believe that the pain we’ve endured has a greater purpose in the change we can create as a nation. I leave it in your hands.


Benefited from this post? Kindly use the sharing buttons above to share the post on your favourite social networks. To make sure you stay up to date with our articles, enter your email to subscribe.

Get Free Updates
Input your email to get new post alert


Leave a Reply