居住环境是一样多为气喘怪就怪室内条件



很多误解飞出去大约承包气喘的潜在风险, 但最近的研究发现,大多数长期持有错误观念误导, 有研究统计也证明了这.

例如, 研究人员曾经认为在60年代初,孩子们生活在贫穷的城市社区发展中面临哮喘的风险较高, 但最近的研究发现,这未必是真实的.

“研究人员开始注意到,生活在内陆城市,如纽约人, 芝加哥和巴尔的摩, 曾在一般哮喘的发生率,他们似乎有住院率很高和急诊室,“博士说:. 考琳Keet, 约翰霍普金斯儿童中心小儿过敏症.

气喘儿童
图片学分




“我们发现,生活在一个内城面积其实不是一个很大的风险因素有哮喘,“ 她说. “但我们也发现, 孩子们在该国其他地区的一些贫困郊区和中型城镇有哮喘“。

在试图找出实际的风险, 研究人员发现,非裔美国人和波多黎各人居住在城市的中心,贫困也是患哮喘压倒性的因素; 尽管这些种类的人的遗传因素往往在具有哮喘中发挥作用.

“我们曾经混为一谈内城贫困, 现在我们看到在郊区和小城镇更加集中的贫困,“Keet说.

并且由于这意味着在家庭以外的环境条件是坏壳体的室内条件下同样重要, 蟑螂和霉菌滋生, 相互之间的生活条件可以增加哮喘风险.

“这也可以在非城市地区的真实, 当然,“医生说:. 罗莎琳德·赖特, 在山儿科教授. Sinai医院在纽约. “如果你住在低质量住房, 您可能也有类似类型的风险。“

儿童也面临着二手烟哮喘的危险 - 和穷人往往会吸更多. “当然,谁低收入生活的人有更多的挑战,应对和心理压力, 而这可能会影响你的免疫系统,“赖特说,.

“问题是,它是不一样的环境因素可能是最相关的或重要的, 如果你谈论的是纽约市与东哈莱姆与密歇根州农村的上东区或类似这样的东西,“赖特补充.


从这篇文章中受益? 请使用上面的共享按钮分享您最喜爱的社交网络帖子. 为确保您保持最新与我们的文章, 输入您的电子邮件订阅.

获得免费更新
输入您的电子邮件以获得新的职位警报


发表评论

Residential Environments are as much to Blame for Asthmas as Indoor Conditions


    

A lot of misconceptions fly around about the potential risks of contracting asthmas, but recent studies find that most of these long-held misconceptions are misleading, with research statistics to prove this.

For instance, researchers used to think in the early 60s that kids living in poor urban neighborhoods faced higher risks of developing asthma, but recent studies find that this is not necessarily true.

“Researchers started noting that people living in inner cities like New York, Chicago and Baltimore, had rates of asthma in general and they seemed to have very high rates of hospitalization and emergency room visits,” says Dr. Corrine Keet, a pediatric allergist at the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center.

asthmas in children
Picture credits




“We found that living in an inner-city area was actually not a big risk factor for having asthma,” she says. “But we also found that even more children had asthma in some poor suburban and medium sized towns in other regions of the country.”

In trying to isolate the actual risks, researchers found that poverty among African-Americans and Puerto Ricans living in inner cities is also an overwhelming factor in developing asthma; even though genetic factors among these classes of people tend to play a role in having asthma.

“Where we used to conflate inner city with poverty, now we’re see even more concentrated poverty in suburban areas and smaller towns,” Keet says.

And since this means that environmental conditions outside the home is as important as indoor conditions of bad housing, infested with cockroaches and mold, among other living conditions can add to the risks of asthma.

“This can also be true in non-urban areas, of course,” said Dr. Rosalind Wright, a professor of pediatrics at Mt. Sinai Hospital in New York. “If you live in lower quality housing, you may have similar types of risks.”

Children also face the risk of asthma with second-hand smoke – and poor people tend to smoke more. “Certainly people who live with lower incomes have many more challenges to deal with and psychological stress, and this can affect your immune system,” Wright said.

“The problem is it’s not the same environmental factors that might be most relevant or important, if you’re talking about the Upper East Side of New York City versus East Harlem versus rural Michigan or something like this,” Wright added.


Benefited from this post? Kindly use the sharing buttons above to share the post on your favourite social networks. To make sure you stay up to date with our articles, enter your email to subscribe.

Get Free Updates
Input your email to get new post alert


Leave a Reply