为什么人们在寒冷的天气得感冒



感冒是轻微的病毒感染在寒冷的天气像冬天人们得到; 它影响鼻子和呼吸道和非常低的环境温度下产生. 发表于 国家科学学院院刊, 一项新的研究,现在可以解释为什么人们在寒冷的天气让感冒.

该研究表明,人们得到感冒时,内部的体温接触到冷空气后回落 - 这会导致免疫系统抵抗引起感冒鼻病毒能力相应的秋天. 而接下来发生的事情是,你开始啜泣.




为什么人们在寒冷的天气得感冒

据岩崎明子, 在医学耶鲁大学医学院免疫生物学教授, “这已经早就知道,鼻病毒复制在较冷的温度更好, 周围 33 摄氏 (91 飞轮海), 相比的核心体温 37 摄氏 (99 飞轮海). 但对于这种低温偏爱病毒复制的原因不明. 许多焦点在这个问题上一直对病毒本身. 然而, 病毒复制机制本身运作良好在两个温度, 留下未回答此问题。“

为进一步建立内部体温和身体的抵御病毒的能力之间的关系, 研究者孵育两组小鼠细胞在两种不同的温度下. 一个电池组温育在37℃或99F - 在肺中发现的温度, 在33℃或91F培养另一组类似,在鼻子中发现温度. 当最终暴露于鼻病毒 - 温和的病毒引起感冒 - 研究人员发现,内部的体温都在所有对病毒没有直接的影响; 但是之后, 人体的间接免疫系统响应以各种方式对病毒的存在 - 更强的响应被温暖肺细胞内发现和较弱的响应从较冷鼻细胞指出.

岩崎解释说,“我们使用的鼠标呼吸道细胞为模型来研究这个问题, [并发现] 在鼻子中发现的散热器温度, 宿主的免疫系统无法防御诱导信号,以阻止病毒的复制。“他补充说:”通过从外部吸入的冷空气, 机头内的温度可能会相应地降低, 至少瞬时. 因此, 我们的研究结果的含义是较冷的环境温度可能会增加病毒的复制能力不错,并制定了冷. 然而,“ 他加了, “我们的研究并没有直接测试这个; 一切都在组织培养皿中进行, 而不是在活的动物暴露在寒冷的空气。“

医疗流行病学家与美国中心病毒病的疾病控制和预防的司, 博士. 约翰·沃森, 指出:“到底为什么人得感冒是很难评估,“他说. “什么是行之有效的是,普通感冒是极为常见. 我们可以说,大人把它在每年三次的区域. 而对于孩子们下 6 它可能会在那个两倍经常发生。“

由于有以上 100 不同类型的鼻病毒, 它们都是通常温和但大多数影响上呼吸道系统而一些下呼吸道. “谁得到什么,为什么还没有完全搞清楚,“沃森说. “当然,还有一些明显的风险因素. 与免疫妥协的条件或已存在的面对疾病的风险较高的人, 因为这样做老年人和早产儿. 但是,指着寒冷的天气本身不是一件简单的事情,“ 他加了. “这可能是感冒本身. 或者,它可能是人们在寒冷的天气变化行为, 而这些变化 - 比如更可能在更小的空间其他人在室内聚集 - 可以把人的风险增加, 而不是冷本身“。

而从沃森临别赠言, 他补充说,“这是一个有趣的发现,也许值得进一步研究的. 但它肯定不是一个稳定的问题。“


从这篇文章中受益? 请使用上面的共享按钮分享您最喜爱的社交网络帖子. 为确保您保持最新与我们的文章, 输入您的电子邮件订阅.

获得免费更新
输入您的电子邮件以获得新的职位警报


发表评论

Why People Get Colds during Cold Weather


    

Colds is the mild viral infection that people get during cold weathers like winter; it affects the nose and respiratory passages and produced by very low environmental temperatures. Published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, a new research now explains why people get colds during cold weather.

The study reveals that people get common cold when internal body temperatures fall after exposure to cold air – and this causes a corresponding fall in the immune system’s ability to fight the rhinovirus that causes common cold. And the next thing that happens is that you start to sniffle.




Why People Get Colds during Cold Weather

According to Akiko Iwasaki, a professor of immunobiology at Yale University School of Medicine, “It has been long known that the rhinovirus replicates better at the cooler temperature, around 33 Celsius (91 Fahrenheit), compared to the core body temperature of 37 Celsius (99 Fahrenheit). But the reason for this cold temperature preference for virus replication was unknown. Much of the focus on this question has been on the virus itself. However, virus replication machinery itself works well at both temperatures, leaving the question unanswered.”

To further establish the relationship between internal body temperatures and the ability of the body to fend off a virus, researchers incubated two groups of mouse cells in two different temperatures. One cell group was incubated at 37C or 99F – the temperature found in the lungs, and the other group incubated at 33C or 91F to resemble that of temperature found in the nose. When eventually exposed to rhinovirus – the mild virus that causes common cold – the researchers found that internal body temperatures have no direct effect on the virus at all; but then, the body’s indirect immune system responds to the presence of the virus in various ways – a stronger response is found within warmer lung cells and a weaker response noted from colder nasal cells.

Iwasaki explained that “We used mouse airway cells as a model to study this question [and found that] at the cooler temperature found in the nose, the host immune system was unable to induce defense signals to block virus replication.” He added that “By inhaling the cold air from the outside, the temperature inside the nose will likely decrease accordingly, at least transiently. Therefore, an implication of our findings is that the cooler ambient temperature would likely increase the ability of the virus to replicate well and to develop a cold. However,” he added, “our study did not directly test this; everything was done in tissue culture dishes, and not in live animals exposed to cold air.”

A medical epidemiologist with the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s division of viral disease, Dr. John Watson, states that “Why exactly people get colds is hard to assess,” he noted. “What is well-established is that the common cold is extremely common. We can say that adults get it in the area of three times every year. And for kids under 6 it may happen twice as often at that.”

Since there are over 100 different types of rhinoviruses, they are all typically mild but most affect the upper respiratory system while some the lower respiratory tract. “Who gets what and why is incompletely understood,” Watson said. “There are certainly some clear risk factors. People with immune-compromising conditions or preexisting illness face a higher risk, as do the elderly and premature babies. But pointing to cold weather itself is not a simple matter,” he added. “It may be cold itself. Or it may be that people’s behavior in cold weather changes, and those changes – such as being more likely to congregate indoors with other people in smaller spaces – could put people at an increased risk, rather than the cold itself.”

And as a parting shot from Watson, he added that “It’s an interesting finding and probably worthy of additional study. But it is certainly not a settled question.”


Benefited from this post? Kindly use the sharing buttons above to share the post on your favourite social networks. To make sure you stay up to date with our articles, enter your email to subscribe.

Get Free Updates
Input your email to get new post alert


Leave a Reply